A warm congratulations to Global Women members Suzanne Snively and Vanisa Dhiru for their contribution and recognition of achievements on the New Year Honours List for 2021!   A happy new year to you all – Ngā mihi o te Tau Hau. Ko te tumanako kei te ora koe.

Champions for Change: June Summit Brings Actions to the Forefront

Champions for Change Summit 17 June:

Fifty New Zealand Champions for Change – Chief Executive Officers and Chairs of significant New Zealand organisations, private and public – are in action, working together to achieve a common vision of a new generation of diverse leaders driving New Zealand’s future economic growth and social prosperity.

The Champions have each made a commitment to:

  • Communicate the business value of diversity to their organisations, sectors and other business leaders
  • Hold themselves accountable, internally and externally, for their success in bringing through diverse leaders
  • Invest in new initiatives to bring diverse people into their organisations and support their development into successful leaders
  • Ensure that their work cultures are inclusive and flexible

Four Action Groups are shaping up priority initiatives to help Champions deliver on these commitments, including a standard external reporting commitment on gender and diversity, a resource of powerful stories of change illustrating the business value of diversity, and a strong group commitment to TupuToa (catalysed by Global Women, TupuToa is a new organisation providing sustained support for Māori and Pasifika tertiary students and emerging leaders within corporates to become business leaders).

Co-Chairs and Sponsors:

Champions for Change is co-chaired by Dame Jenny Shipley and Anthony Healy, CEO, BNZ. The four Action Groups and their sponsors are:

  1. Sharing the Case for Change  – Gabriel Makhlouf, Secretary and Chief Executive Treasury, and Theo Spiering, CEO Fonterra
  2. Measurement and Accountability – Kirsten Patterson, NZ Country Head Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, and Thomas Pippos, CEO Deloitte
  3. Growing Talent Pools – Christopher Luxon, CEO Air New Zealand, and Jason Walker, Managing Director Hays
  4. Mainstreaming Flexibility – Mark Verbiest, Chair Spark, and Bruce Hassall, CEO PwC

Full list of Champions.

We look forward to bringing you continued updates on progress.


NZGWChampionsChange June16 019


Twitter Logo for BlogBe part of the conversation on Twitter @NZGlobalWomen using the hashtag #NZChampionsforChange and on Facebook at ‘NZ Global Women’.